So I’m back to posting, and with a very long awaited review of graphic novel Evil of Oz by Ryan Fuller and Sanjana Baijnath. I was so glad to get the chance to read and review this one, the Wizard of Oz was a huge part of my childhood, and I will always welcome horror versions of my old favourites.

tumblr_nq1tv4icOv1usp0wjo1_500

The Evil of Oz is a twisted take on the usually happy story of The Wizard of Oz, and when Dorothy returns to Oz, things have taken a much sinister turn than what she remembered.

The first thing I noticed when I got into reading, was actually the artwork. I was really impressed by the work that had gone into this graphic novel, finding the reimagined characters terrifying and intriguing at the same time. The thought that had gone into turning these once happy folk into nightmarish creatures is something of great creativity. I found myself preferring their blood soaked Dorothy Gale to Judy Garland’s sweet version within the movie.

I absolutely love the cover of this graphic novel, the unique takes on the characters and how they’re presented really captured my eye and I certainly wasn’t disappointed with the delivery.

The story itself kept me very much interested throughout, and I actually wished that it was longer. From the beginning to end I was gladly hooked in understanding this horrifying tale. I was reminded a little of American McGee’s Alice during the reading, and that’s by no means a bad thing, as I love the concept of returning to a happy world filled with wonder that has then become a desolate wasteland. It’s such a fascinating and alluring idea that has so many possibilities. The twist at the end was incredible, adding that extra bit of depth to the characters and their scare factor.

I’m certainly very impressed by Evil of Oz, and I honestly wish there was more of it to read. I would recommend this to anyone who loves an evil take on childhood classics, it well worth the read. Especially after being drawn in by the cover alone. It’s a stand out read.

Give it a read and let me know what you think!

Check out the website where you can browse through some more reviews, buy the graphic novel and peek at a preview.

If you have content (films, music, merch, clothing, art) you’d like reviewed and featured in your own post on The Scream Review, please drop me an email with the relevant links and information and I’ll be very happy to get back to you.

As always, you can find The Scream Review on on FacebookTwitterPatreonFiverr and Bloglovin’ and now on Instagram.

