I’ve been a fan of dark comedies for a long time now, and the fascination has really just gotten stronger as of late. I enjoyed shows like The Mighty Boosh, Garth Marenghi’s Darkplace and most recently Top Coppers. It was through my still strong enjoyment of The Boosh that I came across AAAAAAAAH! I was instantly interested in such an oddly intriguing concept and had to check it out. I want to personally thank Zoe Flower for being so great in allowing me to watch and review this movie despite not being able to make the screening as well as Steve Oram for creating it!

Check out the trailer here:

Directed by Steve Oram

Starring Julian Barratt, Toyah Willcox, Julian Rhind-Tutt, Steve Oram and Noel Fielding

“Ever imagined what life would be like if humans were apes in modern life? That is the portrayal in this deeply thought provoking mind boggle.”

AAAAAAAAH! from the beginning is a movie that enforces questions. A mixing pot of both weird and wonderful filmmaking that draws on documental techniques to portray an even weirder concept. Bordering on a more uncomfortable humour, this isn’t a film for a weak stomach in parts. But with that aside, Oram gives a clever yet dark twist on life as we know it.

I’ll admit that during some scenes (involving one Noel Fielding) I felt awkwardly uncomfortable, but I couldn’t bring myself to look away. The narrative was so offishly encapsulating that I felt compelled to watch every single detail. Despite the fact that there was no dialogue, just a well chosen cast and a series of grunts, the entire atmosphere held up by itself and kept me as a viewer on edge and interested. The way to describe the overall viewing experience of Oram’s creation is morbidly curious. But that’s by no means a bad thing at all.

The characters within AAAAAAAAH! all have some really unique characteristics but even the worst characters are strangely likeable. I felt that the cast had been chosen perfectly, and I couldn’t think of another person that I’d rather see in any of the roles within it. Some notable performances coming from the ever fantastic Julian Barratt (though I can never un-see him running through the woods and the chicken show he’s besotted with) and Tom Meeten. I felt really involved with the characters as I watched, feeling more like a fly on the wall, but knowing about their odd and often risque lives.

As far as the plot concerned, I’ve never seen something so brilliantly disturbing in all my life. I was kept on my toes throughout, constantly asking questions and understanding more about this odd world that Oram had created (one of the weirdest and yet also one of my favourite scene ended with Tom Meeten and a wheelie bin.) The running time complimented the story perfectly, not cutting to short or extending too long. The work that was put into making AAAAAAAAH! what it is deserves a lot of commendation. For the story alone, it’s a strong piece of cinema that will give you laughs and disgust rolled into one whilst never coming across as offensive in my personal opinion. It’s something to see through a different viewpoint and I can’t praise it enough for that. As an addition, I feel that the deadpan styling and aesthetic of the movie really complimented it and made me enjoy it all the more. This could also be said about the unique soundtrack that features throughout.

Please do check out AAAAAAAAH! if you’re a fan of dark humour and oddities. I’m genuinely over the moon with this movie and I couldn’t recommend it more. Please do check out the cast and Steve Oram‘s other work, because he’s such a unique filmmaker. Overall I give a hearty 5 skulls out of five (☠☠☠☠☠.) 

If you have content (films, music, merch, clothing, art) you’d like reviewed and featured in your own post on The Scream Review, please drop me an email with the relevant links and information and I’ll be very happy to get back to you.

As always, you can find The Scream Review on on FacebookTwitterPatreon and Bloglovin’ and now on Instagram.

