Hi everyone, sorry this one is so late. I’ve been here there and everywhere with a little bit of everything lately. But as TSR is gradually getting back on track, I’ll be posting a few more reviews. I had wanted to see Starry Eyes since I caught sight of the first trailer, really. It shed light on some really strange and inventive new ideas, I think.

To have a peek at the trailer, look no further:

Directed by Kevin Kolsch and Dennis Widmyer

Starring Alex Essoe, Amanda Fuller, Noah Segan and Pat Healy

“A hopeful young starlet uncovers the ominous origins of the Hollywood elite and enters into a deadly agreement in exchange for fame and fortune.”

The outline for Starry Eyes is something we often hear spilling from countless conspiracy theorists, but this movie takes the idea and gives us something that reimagines the horrors of Hollywood. Upon watching, I couldn’t shake the overpowering atmosphere I felt was being put across. I often felt I was in the same position as Sarah (Essoe), going through the motions alongside her as things got bleaker.

There were so many emotions evoked by the atmosphere that I felt Starry Eyes put across and a lot of them related to the struggles of a young girl who just wants to become an actress. There was this tense, uneasy air that pushed some of the scenes to become uncomfortable and almost threatening to me as a viewer. I think this actually furthered my interest and concern for the lead character Sarah.

When I was first introduced to the characters that Starry Eyes had to offer, I was less than thrilled with some due to their personalities and the way they interacted with the lead. Despite the fact I found characters such as Ashley (Natalie Castillo) and Poe (Shane Coffey) hard to get along with, they played their parts excellently. I have nothing but great words for Sarah (Alex Essoe), I think she was a great fit for the lead, and every step she took through the movie made me really connect with what was happening on screen. I really like the addition of Tracy (Amanda Fuller) and Carl (Pat Healy) as I feel they were both awfully stuck in the middle with what was going on, and gave them a more inviting, fresh personality than the other friends Sarah had. I also thought it was great to see Nick Simmons in the movie, who played Ginko.

The additional characters such as the Casting Director and Assistant (Maria Olsen and Marc Senter) kept me on edge, and had me feeling really awkward during their scenes. Their parts were equally amped up by that overbearing feeling of dread that the atmosphere gave us, that I often found myself cringing at the events. This would then apply to The Producer (Louis Dezseran) who seemed to play on the air of discomfort, making every scene feel unnerving and wrong in various ways.

The plot was definitely different, and touched on subjects that I thought possibly wouldn’t be well explored in film. But nevertheless, more risky subjects were tackled to actually enhance the plot and give a message. I really felt that Starry Eyes followed a new path in terms of conceptuality. Everything that was going on kept me interested throughout, not feeling slow in any parts, because it really showed the hectic lifestyle of someone in the position of trying to become an actress. I really could watch this over and over again for its inventive style and ideas.

The lighting throughout seemed to evoke or enhance the scene itself. Often, there was an over dramatisation that I felt helped me feel Sarah’s state of mind and at times, helped me to grasp the emotions and themes they were trying to convey. The lighting was quite important to a few of the audition scenes, I think. The atmosphere and lighting went hand in hand and was key to making the scene as horrifying and uncomfortable as it was. The music used also really made things more personal, fitting the lifestyle of the main group of characters that were all equally trying to make it in Hollywood. It also really fit the seedy, grimy feel of the movie and its inhabitants.

Overall, I definitely enjoyed Starry Eyes and I really think that giving it a second watch makes it all come together. It’s a film that opened my eyes with each viewing. I would definitely recommend it if you’re looking for something a little bit different that plays with your mind and emotions. I’m going to give Starry Eyes 5 skulls out of 5 (☠☠☠☠☠.)

A big thank you to Monster Pictures for this one, check them out on their website and their Facebook and have a look at some of the awesomely gruesome films they have to offer. Also do check out the movie itself on the website and Facebook and give them a like!

If you have content (films, music, merch, clothing, art) you’d like reviewed and featured in your own post on The Scream Review, please drop me an email with the relevant links and information and I’ll be very happy to get back to you.

As always, you can find The Scream Review on on FacebookTwitterPatreon and Bloglovin’ and now on Instagram.

