So recently I was contacted by Doug Roos, the director of the movie, who asked if I’d take a look at his indie horror film The Sky Has Fallen (2009) which had created some buzz on Bloody Disgusting and Dread Central. I was totally up for checking it out, and so I did a review of the film for you all. I will note ahead that this movie has a lot of practical FX going on through out that I’d like to give a special mention about, as it was absolutely phenomenal.

Directed by Doug Roos

Starring Carey MacLaren, Laurel Kemper, Cory Knisely, Kevin Keppy and Grant Anstine

“Within a couple of hours, a new disease wipes out almost all of mankind. Trying to avoid infection, people flee to remote locations, but they start seeing mysterious black figures, carrying away the dead and experimenting on them. Now, Lance and Rachel, two survivors determined to fight back, must kill the leader of these creatures before the rest of humanity disappears.”

Straight off the bat, I can say that the story was fascinating and something really unique that I loved. It was definitely something that I’ve never really seen before, so it was great to see a film that took a new stand on the ‘infection’ horror genre. I can’t say much about what makes it so original, as I really don’t want to spoil anything for anyone but I really do think you should check it out for a new take on the genre. (To see where you can find this movie, check out the links below.) Lots of the twists had me on edge as I kept with the story and desperately wanted to find out more.

The characters were very interested and nicely fleshed out with equally interesting backstories. I felt that I wanted to know much more about the characters however and their lives before the outbreak which I feel would have been really heartfelt to see. The two main characters Lance and Rachel (Carey and Laurel) worked well together, with noticeable chemistry and a story that played off each other. I really feel that Laurel took the stage here, expressing her skills very well on screen and really drawing me into her character and how she kept herself strong and full of courage throughout – it was very nice to see a strong, motivated and interesting female lead in this kind of movie. Carey did a fantastic job as the male lead here, drawing us into his mysterious side and keeping us absorbed with his skills and stories of what he plans to do throughout. I was very impressed with the two of them and their abilities to tell a story with their body language as well as dialogue. I did, however, want to know a lot more about some of the side characters, as they had so much presence during their screen time.

The practical effects throughout this movie really stole the show, however, I feel. The infected ‘creatures’ looked terrifying and gross which really worked for this movie. The effects team did a spectacular job at keeping up a consistently gruesome and intriguing – making the story even more heartbreaking in areas and keeping up the terror when the creatures made their appearances. During some jumpscares, this was especially true, as often it caught me off guard and had me really on edge.

I really would recommend you give this movie a watch by purchasing it on the movie’s website here. It’s something interesting and great to watch and I really think you will like this! If you do check this movie out, please let me know what you thought of it!

Please support the film on Facebook, via the Website (where you can also buy the film) and check out the IMDB page!

If you have content (films, music, merch, clothing, art) you’d like reviewed and featured in your own post on The Scream Review, please drop me an email with the relevant links and information and I’ll be very happy to get back to you.

As always, you can find The Scream Review on on FacebookTwitterPatreon and Bloglovin’ and now on Instagram.

