I had this movie sent to me by Monster Pictures after seeing the trailer for it on the ABCs of Death 2 DVD and I had the urge to watch it. I chose to go into this movie not knowing but about it aside from watching the trailer once – I wanted a fresh take on this movie as it seemed really different to the kind of movies going around at the moment, which was definitely a good thing.

If you’d like to have a look at the trailer, check it out here:

“Awkward ice cream van driver Warren Thompson’s only respite from his drab existence comes in the form of gorgeous soapie star Katie George. Besotted with the young actress, Warren can’t help but imagine what life would be like with Katie at his side. As the lines between reality and fiction blur, Warren’s quest to make Katie his will have catastrophic implications for all who populate his simple world.”

Directed by Stuart Simpson

Starring Glenn Maynard, Kyrie Capri, Aston Elliot and Louise Bremner

The story from start to finish was quite heartfelt, from the first scene I felt connected to Warren (Glenn Maynard) who just cares about his ice cream business and the happiness of his customers. He’s a likeable guy that gets picked on too much, but gets back up again and dusts himself off. Glenn’s acting is outstanding throughout, we really can sense his ultimate breakdown coming as the story progresses which keeps you glued to the screen. The way he can transition from being fun and comical to deeply depressed to psychotic was fantastic. Almost effortless. He made me laugh and he made me terrified and all through the film I couldn’t call what would happen, it was just so different.

The cinematography had an almost deadpan feel to it, which played into the sad and confused life of Warren. I feel that it really helped to tell the story of what happened to him on a day to day basis, and how down-trodden he was. It had an almost unsettling feel to it, making the eventual breaking point even harder to watch as I’d seen it peaking before my eyes throughout. The camera angles and effects really helped that along. I really enjoyed the video diary scenes, showing how Warren opens up to the camera, gives it a glimpse into his feelings and what he wants to do and how much he loves his soapie-heartthrob Katey George (Kyrie Capri). Kyrie also gave a fantastic, complex performance that worked really well here. It deepened the character more, and it also helped blur both Warren’s and my own understanding of what was real and what was fictitious. It all really wove its way into the story, making it even more maddeningly mesmerising to watch.

I really loved the soundtrack that went along with the movie, some classic pieces of music were included that also played into fleshing out Warren’s character more. It really made him feel like a strong presence despite him being so shy and passive. The music played into the emotions of the scenes and often had me gripping the arm of my chair as events unfolded before my eyes.

The final moments of the movie, where Warren’s breakdown really hits was intense, terrifying and yet slightly understandable all at once. I was really interested to see how it would play out and I wasn’t disappointed. It really was gripping and I watched with wide-eyes as this simple, nice guy went into a frenzied rage over his own fragile mind and what it had created. Sickened and intrigued, I almost wanted Warren to brutally snap following everything he’d been through. It was definitely worth the watch, and I really would recommend giving this movie a watch. Definitely one for those who like dark comedies and psychological movies. It’s definitely really interesting to watch.

If you get the chance to see this movie, please let me know what you think! I’d love to hear everyone’s opinions on it! In the mean time please support Monster Pictures on Facebook and the movie itself on Facebook.

If you have content (films, music, merch, clothing, art) you’d like reviewed and featured in your own post on The Scream Review, please drop me an email with the relevant links and information and I’ll be very happy to get back to you.

As always, you can find The Scream Review on on FacebookTwitterPatreon and Bloglovin’ and now on Instagram.

