First off, I’d like to say a massive thank you to Artsploitation Films who sent me this movie after a while of me being really interested in what it was all about. I’d anticipated House with 100 Eyes for a long time, as I’m interested in finding some great pseudo-snuff movies that actually take a bit of care with what they’re doing to make it both disgusting and entertaining to watch as a horror fan. I feel that the balance is very important. That’s what we’ve got here with House with 100 Eyes.

If you want to check out the trailer, please do so here:

Directed by Jay Lee and Jim Roof

Starring Jim Roof, Shannon Malone, Larissa Lynch, Liz Burghdorf and Andrew Hopper

“AMERICAN PSYCHO meets THIS IS SPINAL TAP in this gory mockumentary.  A nice middle-class American couple spend their spare time making and selling snuff videos.  When they plot their latest – featuring three kills in one night – everything goes terribly, bloodily wrong. THE HOUSE WITH 100 EYES is simultaneously shocking and satirical.”

Starting off with the acting, I think Jim and Shannon were so perfect in playing off of each other in their roles as the main couple, so much so, that we forget that this is a movie, and those are just the characters. Their acting was so dynamic that it really brought House to life and almost made the two main psychopaths, dare I say it, human. Jim Roof in his role as Ed had me chuckling and wincing all at the same time with his dialogue and the life he breathed into his twisted character. Shannon Malone almost had a nurturing side to her terrifying killer character Susan, taking on an almost ‘kill them with kindness’ approach for some parts.

Larissa, Liz and Andrew were cast for the roles of victims Jamie, Crystal and Clutch and were great casting choices. I thought at first I wouldn’t feel very sorry for them due to the stereotype of some victims in pseudo-snuff movies. But I really did take to these characters, with Liz Burghdorf as Crystal at the forefront of my sympathy. She was so vulnerable and acted very well during her scenes, making it really uncomfortable to see any kind of torturous goings on with her as the plaything. With Larissa Lynch as Jamie and Andrew Hopper as Clutch, they had me rooting for them the whole time – which kept me glued to the screen.

The use of ‘found footage’ throughout this movie has a great quality to it. I didn’t find it claustrophobic or annoying at all although the camera noises for some of the torture scenes made things a lot harder to watch as well as making it feel one hundred times more uncomfortable. Although that did play into the atmosphere of the film itself. I feel that this movie is definitely nasty film making that’s grossly entertaining to watch. I really got sucked into this movie, taking in the story, the characters and their drive whilst wanting to really see it all kick off, ultimately. And I definitely got my wish.

As soon as you think you know where things are going with the movie, it completely changes. House is filled with so many twists and turns, you’re left making your own scenarios and outcomes in your head, as if you’re becoming a part of the movie yourself. It really made me question a lot, such as who I should actually be rooting for, what could possibly happen next and who on earth is that. I think that’s a really good example of fantastic story telling as well as keeping your audience on their toes which is what this kind of movie needs.

The overall ending twist was cleverly done and honestly deserves a lot of recognition. It’s not your average movie, it’s something bigger than that. And I really would recommend this movie to all of you. Especially if gore is your thing. The effects were actually really well done, which was impressive. I really cannot fault this movie at all.

The movie is released tomorrow on DVD (get it here) so if you are interested and have the chance to get the movie, please do and let me know what you think! I’d love to hear your thoughts!

In the mean time, please support The House with 100 Eyes on Facebook and Artsploitation Films on Facebook, too.

If you have content (films, music, merch, clothing, art) you’d like reviewed and featured in your own post on The Scream Review, please drop me an email with the relevant links and information and I’ll be very happy to get back to you.

As always, you can find The Scream Review on on FacebookTwitterPatreon and Bloglovin’ and now on Instagram.

