So I’d been pretty excited about seeing the new Poltergeist re-boot as I really think they get too much shtick nowadays. Whereas I’d like to see something new every so often, I don’t think some of the remakes that have come around are half bad. I absolutely loved the original Poltergeist movies, and the trailer to this modern take on the classic actually looked quite promising.

But now, after seeing it, I’m still feeling slightly ripped off.

Directed by Gil Kenan

Starring Sam Rockwell, Rosemarie DeWitt, Saxon Sharbino, Kyle Catlett and Kennedi Clements

To start off, we had all the elements of a mainstream horror, the family moving into a new home and the kids that aren’t really taken very seriously. The creepy house, the all important creepy tree. Now, some of this movie did really have the campy and fun feel that the original did, but I honestly thought for the most part that it was taking itself a little too seriously.

I couldn’t knock the cinematography. It was actually really well done, as were the special effects. I really liked the effects they used to create the ‘other’ world to get their daughter back. It was spooky enough and looked great. But I think that’s the only thing I really enjoyed. If I leave a movie only saying that the visuals were well done, I feel that they could have done a little more.

Kennedi Clements really took the stage in Poltergeist, bringing the sweet yet slightly creepy innocence to the table. She really played her part well and Sam Rockwell was very entertaining, too. I usually love Jared Harris in any horror movie role, but here, I feel that he could have done a little better, his part seemed very tongue in cheek and where I can see what they were going for, I feel that the idea fell through the roof a little on the outcomes.

Maybe if I thought of this movie as its own thing as opposed to a remake, I would have enjoyed it a lot more. But the way it came across when watching the movie was that they were trying to make it a terrifying modern horror, when the original itself was quite, well, fun really.

I would like to know what you guys thought of Poltergeist, let me know in the comments!

If you have content (films, music, merch, clothing, art) you’d like reviewed and featured in your own post on The Scream Review, please drop me an email with the relevant links and information and I’ll be very happy to get back to you.

As always, you can find The Scream Review on on FacebookTwitterPatreon and Bloglovin’ and now on Instagram.

