2014 USC film graduates Powell Robinson and Patrick R. Young have just completed their first horror feature, BASTARD. The pair co-directed a script written by Young and the film was produced by Lauren Bates.

“BASTARD follows newlywed, hitch-hiking serial killers, a brother and sister on the run, and a suicidal, alcoholic cop as they get caught in an increasingly bizarre series of murders committed by a masked killer near a mountain-town bed and breakfast.”

The film, infused with the blood of cult slasher films like The Burning and Halloween, includes a throwback retro score, all practical effects, and stars genre veterans Rebekah Kennedy (Season of the Witch/House Hunting) and Tonya Kay (Raze/Dark Space).  Newcomers Ellis Greer, Dan Creed, Will Tranfo, and Burt Culver (Starry Eyes) fill out the rest of the chopping order.

The film will enter the sales game under Robinson and Young’s production company name BIG BAD FILM.

You can hear a snippet of the original soundtrack by Kyle Hnedak here:

https://soundcloud.com/big-bad-film/bastard-score-excerpt

I was able to interview Powell Robinson and Patrick R. Young and ask them a few questions about their influences and what brought them into making a horror movie.

“What encouraged you to pursue film making? Is horror a personal favourite genre of yours?”

Patrick: Horror is absolutely a love of mine. I got into film because my mom showed me Alien and American Psycho fifteen times too many.

Powell: I saw the Mummy when I was pretty young, according to my parents I wasn’t scared, just wanted to know how they did all the special effects.  Maybe I was quietly scarred for life and that lead to my  love for horror.

“Who are your main inspirations in film? Which directors and actors are you inspired by?”

Powell:  Sam Raimi and the entire Evil Dead catalogue are really what pushed me into the horror world (maybe I should try and sound more cliché?).  I have a distinct memory though of watching Kill Bill and being mesmerized by the performances, that’s probably also when I developed my cinematography crush on Mr. Richardson.  Any actor who isn’t afraid to nose dive down the rabbit hole is who I find inspiring – celebrity or unknown.

Patrick: All the auteurs who put exactly what they want on the screen. So everyone from Tarantino to Ti West who make sure I absolutely can’t miss their film.

“What can we expect to find in BASTARD, without giving too much away?”

Patrick: We’re not reinventing the wheel here with the slasher genre, but we definitely changed the shape of the wheel. So expect to see a lot of blood, running, and puke all sort of bastardized.

Powell: (Hopefully) Characters you really care about – we wanted it to feel like each pair of the main characters were coming from their own movie, and were not just another set of nameless teens dead in the woods.

“What was your influence to create the movie?”

Powell: Patrick was my dorm neighbor freshman year of college, which is how we met.  I asked him to write a concept for a short story I had about two hitchhiking serial killers who compete for kills as they go; I didn’t hear about it for 3 years.  Junior year comes around and he drops the first draft of Bastard in my lap.  The script was so funny and fucked up at the same time, I knew we had to do it.  I had no intentions of making a feature so soon out of college, so I guess I’d say Patrick’s writing was the biggest influence for me, to make it happen.

Patrick: Powell’s characters really jumped me off and then an old boss of mine made me watch ‘Ravenous’ and I said to myself: Damn. I really want to write a horror film right now. And I did. That night.

“Can we expect more slashers from BIG BAD FILM in the future?”

Patrick: Without saying too much, while we’d like to stay in the horror genre for our next outing, you can expect something a bit more demonic.

Powell:  I wouldn’t say slasher… but we do like gruesome practical effects, so those won’t be going anywhere.

I’m looking forward to catching Bastard when it’s available, and I’m sure that I’ll have a fully intense review when that time comes. I’m already intrigued and excited and I hope you all will be too.

You can also see more on Bastard at www.facebook.com/bastardfilm.

