Wetlands (2013)

Original Title: Feuchtgebeite (Germany)

Director: David Wnendt

Starring: Carla Juri, Christopher Letkowski, Marlen Kruse and Meret Becker

Based on the best selling novel by Charlotte Roche, Wetlands is a story about a young woman reclaiming her body in the strangest of ways.

I found that the story was so easy to follow and wholly entertaining throughout. I found myself bemused and interested in Helen’s story and lifestyle. It’s not a conventional movie, and most definitely not one for the faint of heart due to the crude use of sex throughout. But it is an intimate look into the life of a girl with a secret pure heart. Wetlands explores adolescent sexuality in a brutally honest form.

The characters throughout all have their flaws, yet you can easily get attached to them, which makes this movie powerful in its own way. Helen (Juri) is a quirky, messy and deep individual with honest intentions from start to finish. Her ideas and motivations all point to a genuine want for a normal life. Whereas sometimes things can get a little much, the characters exceed your expectations and become some of the most interesting people in the story.

I found the music fitting and definitely great to listen to, it worked for movie and helped usher some of the scenes into practice. The cinematography and visual effects within some of the scenes were excellent and I was very impressed considering the kind of movie I was watching. It all very well enhanced the story and the scenes that were unfolding. I had no issues with this movie whatsoever, though I definitely know it wasn’t everyone’s cup of tea. I really thought it was a unique and graphic take on sexuality in the modern world which makes it a unique watch in my books.

I’m looking forward to reading the book, now, to really see how the movie was adapted.

I’d recommend this one to those with stronger stomachs for sex and bodily functions. Give it a try, I really feel you’ll be surprised, I know I was.

All in all, I’d definitely give Wetlands 5 skulls out of 5 (☠☠☠☠☠.)

As always, you can like The Scream Review on Facebook, follow on Twitter and Bloglovin’.

