Videogram’s new self-titled album is a horror hit pulled straight out of the 80s.

Sounding like a soundtrack to a popular 80’s slasher flick, this album really picks at originality with immersive soundscapes and beats. Videogram has successfully created a musical horror hit in one album. You get the sense of several different horror hits such as Friday 13th, A Nightmare on Elm Street, Creepshow and Fright Night which is a huge hit with me personally, as all of those movies are personal favourites. Videogram is right on the money when it comes to creating something nightmarish-yet-upbeat. It’s incredible to hear such talent, and I’m very glad that I had the opportunity to review this album.

Each track flows fittingly which ensures that they each tell you a different story in their own right. With each listen, you get slowly drawn into its hauntingly mesmerising world. Within the album, no two songs are the same, so you’re always getting something unique and equally impressive. You can really tell that this album is inspired by the horror genre in particular which really adds to the fact that it gets quite creepy in places, making you feel slightly uneasy which is a bonus, I’ll add. This album is also great for stimulating inspiration, I thought of so many ideas during the course of the album, which I’ll thank Magnus for here.

I developed a few favourites upon listening to the album, namely “Walpurgisnacht”, “I Warned You Not to Go Out Tonight” and “Scavolini’s Nightmare”. These songs spoke out to me and had me thinking of so many different things at once, I felt as if I was part of the story, of the horror. Personally, I enjoyed the album and would recommend it to anyone looking for something new and unique within the horror genre.

 

