Begotten has a huge following, and it’s a film that every horror fan has heard at least once in their lifetime. I explored a little more into this movie and gave it a go for myself. It’s on my list of movies to review, and I put up a few words about it on IMDB a while ago, but now I think I’ll give it more of an in-depth review.

WARNING: May contain spoilers. If you want to enter this movie with no knowledge, please avoid this review! I don’t want to spoil this for you!

Director: E. Elias Merhige

Starring: Brian SalzbergDonna DempseyStephen Charles Barry

Begotten is one of the most promising art-style horror movie for a lover of the genre. It’s a black and white art fest with grainy shots and controversial scenes that tells the story of death and rebirth among gods.

Entering the movie, and viewing the opening scene gave me such a rush, I was finally joining the hype and I was going to understand what everyone was talking about. I was wrong. I admire the movie for being a piece of art and doing something that no one else dared to, but aside from that, it just starts to go downhill after the first scene. The camera work and the scenes get a little too artsy and most of the time you’re trying to work out what you’re actually seeing as opposed to seeing and enjoying the movie. The movie was 72 mins in total, but would have probably benefitted as a 30 minute short, showing what needed to be shown instead of grainy and unidentifiable pieces of whatever was being filmed.

You can make the argument that “I didn’t get it,” “I don’t understand” etc but even if that was the case, I still didn’t enjoy it and knowing some underlying subtext probably won’t help me enjoy it anymore than I do now. I hate to say that this movie was a let down for me, because I was hoping that I was going to find it a classic. I do recommend this movie to any of you that like art films and grainy black and white, because the visuals are something else entirely. The storyline and the concept together were so promising, but it fell through for me.

Despite this, I really did enjoy the beginning gore scene, as it was understandable and gave me total chills. If you’re interested in the hype behind Begotten, give it a go, you may be surprised. Overall, I’d give this movie 2 skulls out of 5 (☠☠.)

Let me know what you thought of the movie in the comments!

P.s. guys, remember, The Scream Review is on Facebook! Go check out and like the page for frequent updates! https://www.facebook.com/thescreamreview

