August Undergrounds Mordum (2003)

Director:  Jerami Cruise

Starring:  Cristie WhilesFred Vogel and Michael Todd Schneider

I watched August Undergrounds Mordum for three reasons:

1) A list of the ‘top disturbing movies.’
2) I have come across it a few times in the past.
3) I wanted to see what the fuss was about.

In a nut shell, as I’ve seen many others’ say in their reviews of this movie, it’s a fake snuff film. There are no heirs and graces to it, no Hollywood disguises, it’s exactly as it says on the tin. However, it’s almost as if the intention was not cleverness or even entertainment, as I soon found out further into the movie.

Essentially, the whole movie uses shock tactic after shock tactic to lure you into thinking either, “some people will do anything for a bit of cash” or “why even bother?” There’s no in-between section where you think that it’s actually believable. You’ll be given rape, murder, vomit, blood, degradation and much more but unfortunately, not a plot line. You are following a few sick people around with a shaky camera and little to no talent (aside from a good few pairs of shouting lungs that can use swears like they know no other vocabulary). I can see why some people find it difficult to watch, because aside from the constant shouting and poor shock tactics, all you’re getting is shaky camera work and awkward viewing quality. I’m one to give any kind of horror a go at watching, and I did watch the entirety of August Underground’s Mordum, but I came out of it feeling slightly unfulfilled and horribly embarrassed. Not only was it embarrassment for myself, but to those involved as well.

I understand that there is a market for these kind of movies, and I’m not going to judge those who enjoy them because I know there are some people out there that find this movie a good ‘un. But personally, there was so little believability I found myself seriously considering turning the whole thing off and going outside (turning off a movie being something I’ve only ever done once in my life). The one thing within August Undergrounds Mordum that I enjoyed was the SFX, they were actually superb, the blood was on point as were the guts and other countless gore points. Sadly, aside from the good SFX, everything just seemed like an amateur submission to an indie shock horror competition. I know that from all the hype surrounding this movie that they are actually making money from what they’ve made, and good for them, they have something to show for themselves but whether it has come from a good idea, I’m not so sure.

If you want to give this movie a go for yourself, honestly, go ahead. Though don’t go in expecting high budget scares with a seriously entertaining set up, because you’ll be bitterly disappointed. If you are also easily offended or disgusted, I’d steer well away from this movie (especially the last sequence, as IMDB will tell you, there’s a less than sparkling scene involving a dead 5 year old.)

If you have seen this movie, and disagree with me, please let me know, I’d love to hear what you thought! If you agree with me, let me know how you pushed through August Undergrounds Mordum. Overall, I give it 2 skulls out of 5 (☠☠.)

