The Conjuring (2013) tells the story of Ed and Lorraine Warren, a couple of paranormal investigators who work to help a family terrorised by an evil presence that resides in their home.

Directed by James Wan and starring Patrick Wilson and Vera Farmiga, this horror movie was one of the best of 2013. I always prefer a supernatural horror with a strong story behind it, and watching this film really gave me that sense of brilliance that had me captivated and on my toes from start to finish. Essentially, it gives you the general plot line to most supernatural horrors but it had a lot of unique properties and twists that really made the film something new and unique. The tension of the movie doesn’t get too much, and also doesn’t underachieve at all.

The film contains a perfect pace that will keep you wondering for all of the main events in the movie itself. The camera work and directing is modern and innovative, despite keeping to that era style that the movie is set in, thanks to the wonderful 1970’s. One thing that really strikes me about this movie, is the fact that it didn’t need unnecessary sex, gore or over the top swearing to give it it’s rating. It’s all rated on the mere scare factor of the movie itself, and I think that’s a route more directors should take when creating a new horror. The actors had me convinced the entire time, and I especially loved Vera Farmiga’s performance throughout. She’s such a strong actress and definitely conveyed what I had expected of her. I feel that everything in the movie stuck to the era setting without adding in the odd piece of accidental modern technology. And I certainly think that it exceeded its expectations from the general horror community.

The jump scares and thrilling moments are built up with suspense and don’t give you any kind of false scares that involve another main character accidentally popping into the shot to scare someone. It’s all based around the supernatural threat and how the family deal with said threat.

The children actors/actresses in the movie actually perfected their roles more than I thought they would have, and they had me seriously convinced that they really were living the horrors they were acting out within the movie. The parts they played were created well and portrayed well to what the director had obviously idealised originally and I was very impressed with their deliverance. All in all, if you’re looking for excellent thrills and a great plot line then do give The Conjuring a go.

Personally, I’ll give this movie 4 skulls out of a possible 5 (☠☠☠☠.) That’s all for now, but what did you think of The Conjuring? Let me know in the comments, I’d love to hear your opinions.

